Skip to content

a source of inspiration

May 20, 2011

The man with the splitting maul is my grandfather John Howland. He greatly influenced me in general and inspired me to garden and farm. He farmed this land a long time ago. At 5’3″ he never weighed more than 112 pounds. The dog was my father’s. Her name was Tasha. She weighed more than 150 pounds.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2011 6:38 PM

    Thanks for starting the blog. Malena and I hope to get a piece to farm by next year. Its a great head start to have a family that has worked the land before you. Having a farm is very much about rooting the family. I look forward to the next update and hope I can visit some day.

  2. May 22, 2011 10:00 AM

    Howdy!

    I’d love to see y’all here…but before you get to it I’ll be sending some goodies along your way.

    I have mixed feelings about the previous family members working the garden. There are some good and great things, like the trees my grandfather planted and the useful things he left for me to find and the awesome job he did subdividing, and also the previous cultivation of the garden space by my mother and the many rocks she removed, and then there is the not-so-great side, the severely degraded landscape fabric made out of old tires that covered the garden, the old chickenwire fencing that was buried into the garden where it rusted into many small pain-in-the-ass pieces, the rusty nails and bricks in the garden, and the many rocks that my mother removed that are in what I’m planning to make into my pumpkin/squash/melon patch.

    Hope all is well and best of luck getting a plot of land to farm! If you can’t find one try guerrilla farming!

Leave a Reply

