Skip to content

I ate wild mushrooms and lived to blog about it!

August 6, 2011

Nature called me out to behind the garden and there suddenly I noticed

WILD OYSTER MUSHROOMS!

I double checked the Interweb to be sure, but there are no poisonous lookalikes on this continent so I went ahead and fried them and ate them. The taste was most certainly “oyster”, but without the ocean taste that I love about oysters. Next time I’ll put them in a stir fry or something, by themselves they were a little too strongly flavored even for me. I harvested a little over a pound. This was my first time foraging for mushrooms – thank you to my mushrooming friends for the inspiration!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Matt permalink
    August 7, 2011 1:36 PM

    My parents used to go searching for these in the woods when I was a kid, but I never tried them.

    Just was reading through the blog — I hadn’t stopped by since the first post. This project is really great! I would love to come by and visit next time I am in Keene, though I don’t know if it will happen again before the end of fall…

  2. August 9, 2011 4:48 AM

    Interested to know… what tree is that they were growing on? I’m asking because I’ve been culturing Oyster mushroom spawn over the past couple of weeks and will need to inoculate it onto logs/wood chips soon, so wood-species loved by Pleurotus is high on my radar right now.

Leave a Reply

