Skip to content

The August Garden

August 28, 2011

The shortest of the fence posts are about 10 feet tall. The corn in the back right of the above photo is taller than that in the picture. As of today it’s over twelve feet.

Morning glories are doing well. They are just now beginning to bloom.

The garden gate worked as I intended – open it and you get smacked in the face with corn.

I unfortunately had to quit smoking cigarettes as they lost their magic, but I added this ash tray for those who still enjoy the cancer stick buzz.

This baby Black Futsu pumpkin unfortunately died. Perhaps one of it’s siblings will live.

This is a volunteer sunflower – not even four feet tall – but it has pretty flowers.

That’s a Long Pie Pumpkin. The plant sadly has been attacked by a fungus if I’m not mistaken, and it looks as though I may lose it. At least I have at least six other plants of the same variety!

One of these things is not like the others!

The dread Squash Vine Borer – a beautiful red wasp-like moth as an adult, an ugly horrible plant killing maggot-like villain as a juvenile. I’ve killed at least thirty of these things this year, and I lost two plants to them. I may lose most or all of my squash in the end as these bugs slow down the plants. In order to kill them I do open plant surgery, using a razor blade to cut up the stem until I find the little things and then I pull them out and squish them. Then I cover up the wound with moist dirt and hope for the best.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 1, 2011 3:32 AM

    I’m curious about your beautiful fences/supports… How are the horizontal pieces fastened onto the poles? Wire? Nails? (I’d think that nails would split such thin sticks, but perhaps you have access to a better wood variety than I do.)

  2. October 4, 2011 1:45 PM

    I mostly used rusty nails, some 550 cord, and a few zip ties. Some of the sticks did split but they stayed in place so I’m happy.

Leave a Reply

