Skip to content

(Squirrel) Meat and (Russet) Potatoes

October 3, 2011

Well, I shot, killed, cleaned, and fried this here squirrel:

Dang delicious! I’m gonna have to get me many more of them little rodents, big fan of that fatty acorn fed flavor.

I salted and peppered this one before rolling in a mix of flour, mustard powder, and red pepper flakes before frying in butter. Potatoes were from the garden and made excellent potato chips. Butter worked very well for frying the chips too.

Gave some of the squirrel to my brother who liked it as much as I did, and two out of two cats also said it was very tasty. If you haven’t tried squirrel yet I highly recommend it as it is high quality meat at a price that can’t be beat.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2011 11:38 PM

    Paul, You make me happy. My pops grew up in Massachusetts and him and his buddies would go camp out and eat squirrel as well. He also said it was one of the better things they ate.
    Keep up the good work.

    • October 4, 2011 1:47 PM

      Thanks! After I earn my first fortune I’ll have to fly y’all out for a wild dinner.

Leave a Reply

