Skip to content

Foolish Fox

October 4, 2011

Went out first in the morning to check out the garden and I noticed what I thought was the cat acting strangely. Took a closer look and there was a fox staring at me. I told it to go away but it didn’t. I looked around frantically and picked up a splitting maul and went to go get the fox. I rethought that quickly on account of the fox behaving so oddly so I ran up to the house and grabbed my .22 rifle (Marlin Papoose) and ran back chambering a round. I went up to maybe twenty five feet from the fox and we stared at each other for a minute or so. Then it turned as if to leave and I shot it:

Unfortunately due to the strange behavior and possibility of rabies, and the fact that I hadn’t had any caffeine, I decided not to take the pelt. Oh well, there’s plenty more where this one came from. I saw a gray one yesterday running across the yard so I ran after it while drawing my pistol but alas it was too quick. I think the one I shot may have been the one chasing the cat. There have been a number of missing cats from the neighborhood the foxes are the likely culprits. This one though will never again eat a kitty dinner:

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2011 3:18 AM

    Are Foxes a significant pest where you are? We’ve certainly had our share of problems with wildlife, recently losing 3/4 of our chicken flock to a Ratel (Honey Badger). But on the whole, I must say that neighbourhood dogs and cats are much more frequently the problem, the wildlife not so much…

    • October 6, 2011 1:21 PM

      Ayuh, we got plenty of foxes. People blame the fisher cat for missing cats but from what I’ve read it’s the foxes and coyotes that are responsible. Pretty sure I heard a neighbors cat get eaten the other night – whole household got woke up by a terrible screeching noise. Thought it was our cat but he was still sitting outside…he did look a little nervous and finally came in though.

      Cats and dogs aren’t a problem. Looking forward to coyote hunting though, Jan-March I can hunt them at night, hunting on snowshoes in the moonlight sounds fun to me.

Leave a Reply

